Posted in Uncategorized

D.O.R.K- Haley Despard | Book review #2 πŸ“–

Book synopsis:Β When 16 old Madison Daley finds out that her dad is a rockstar, her world is flipped upside down. Little does she know, this is the first surprise in many more to come.

Ciao cyberspace πŸ™‚ I received my first book ever (Diary of a Rocker’s Kid) to review a couple of days ago, so I’m pretty happy to have the chance to read it. Here’s what I thought of it:

Living life as a celebrity is clearly no dream life, and Haley portrayed this well by showing ups as well as downs in Madison’s life. At the beginning of the book I was unsure how I was going to feel about the story since it didn’t seem well planned, but I’m glad to say that my thoughts developed as the story continued, and I was well pleased with some turn of events. Although the story is a little predictable, the readers are given enough motivation along the way to keep reading on.

At times, I did feel that the timing for some events could have been better planned, since some affairs seemed to have occurred far too quickly. Also, I found myself disagreeing with a few additional concepts of the story (which I will not mention here merely due to revealing spoilers), which affected my liking for the story.

I actually enjoyed the second half of the book most, since that’s where the story picks up pace. One visible strength of Haley would be her descriptions; short, precise, and lovely. The diary format was very suitable, and all in all, DORK was an easy read. The ending was great, and has left me excited for the next book in the series.


Haley Despard’s blog

DORK on Amazon

πŸ“Œ Thank you Haley, for sending me a free copy of your book in exchange of an honest review! Might I suggest you do this again when the next book is published, inshAllah? xD

Also, hearty congratulations to you, and every other writer out there! Writing can be a daunting task at times, and requires a ton of hard work and effort. But it will be worth it in the end inshAllah, so let’s keep reminding ourselves to stick through it, and keep writing! 😁

More from me soon inshAllah,

A.

Author:

Aspire to inspire. Proud: Muslim ☺ I Chocolate and book lover β™₯ I Potterhead ☻

4 thoughts on “D.O.R.K- Haley Despard | Book review #2 πŸ“–

Say hi!

