Posted in Uncategorized

The Martian by Andy Weir

Ciao cyberspace, and Assalam u Aliekum! 😀 I apologize for being a little late in posting this review, but school’s been keeping me pretty busy. Anyhow, here goes:

Book synopsis:

When a terrific dust storm hits the surface of Mars, a crew of astronauts are forced to retreat and set their journey back to Earth. What they don’t realize is that they’re also abandoning a member of their crew alone; botanist and engineer, Mark Watney. With no means of communication and a limited amount of food, Mark has no option but to survive this bizarre situation with two of his most powerful tools- resourcefulness and determination.


The Martian is one of the most interesting books I’ve read this year- in terms of the plot, the setting, the characters and even the writing. But although it was a pretty clever book, I did have some problems finishing it.

You could learn a lot about Science and how certain things work by reading this book; which is pretty neat but sadly, that’s what threw me off. It soon got difficult to pay attention to Mark’s continuous attempts to fix things. Also, at times it was transparent that the characters were created by a person rather than being real. Something about their personalities and style lacked depth which makes me think that the author failed to give as much importance to the characters as he should have.

Those flaws aside, the book had plenty of great qualities. Despite being unbaked, I did like the characters who though being nerds, were pretty epic. I had a great time reading their tense yet funny conversations and of course, Mark’s prose. He is a terrific protagonist and his voice was remarkable throughout the book. It was fun to see his ideas and theories and equally fun to watch him implement on them. He never gave up, kept coming up with solution after solution and you can’t help but admire a person like that. Even in the most difficult situations his bubbling personality wasn’t effected, which was a relief because he was a joy to have around.

Everyone had to take a lot of risks in this story but the way they dealt with the situations was astounding and I was very impressed, plus a little ashamed for thinking to give up on little things when the characters here barely flinched at extreme situations.

This book also had a very delicate side; one that took me by surprise me. There is a lot of emotional involvement in the book- from decisions taken to stay alive, to playing with the lives of others to help another. The emotional conversations in the book made me realize how much there really is in being an astronaut and increased my respect for them.

The last couple of pages were pretty intense, giving us readers one last taste of a fun ride. I am certainly glad to have read this book and would highly recommend it to any lover of science fiction who has not yet read The Martian.


📌 FTC disclaimer: Thanks to Blogging For Books for providing me a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review.

About the Author

The Martian @ Penguin Random House

The Martian @ Goodreads


Thank you for reading; I hope you’ll come by again! ❤

Stay fantastic folks,

A.

Author:

Aspire to inspire. Proud: Muslim ☺ I Chocolate and book lover ♥ I Potterhead ☻

6 thoughts on “The Martian by Andy Weir

  1. I really loved it 😀
    He was a great protaganist ~ funny, sarcastic, and seriously smart.
    To be honest, tho, he wasn’t really relatable/ real, if you know what I mean. But other than his ‘perfectness’ I TOTALLY NEED TO GO SEE THAT MOVIE
    Do you want to go see it?
    ~ Sarah

    Like

    1. Glad to hear that 😀 And I completely get you! Mark’s character could have been improvised better.
      SAME! It’d be cool if I knew you in real life. We could go watch it together *-* Oh well.
      Also, could you please give me any feedback on my review? I’d like to know what I need to improve on so I can provide better content for my readers. It’d be greatly appreciated 🙂

      Like

    1. Me too! And I’m glad you enjoyed it as well 🙂
      Also, I was wondering if you could give me feedback on my review, and let me know if there is anything you think I need to work on. It’d be greatly appreciated! ❤

      Like

      1. This is a very well written and thought out review! I think you did a good job explaining the parts that you enjoyed and the parts that you didn’t like. If you wanted, you can always throw in some more specific examples to support your thoughts (like a specific line that made you love Mark Watney or what specifically made the supporting characters come off as flat). Also I think that you’ll like the movie since they removed all of the explanatory science. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

Say hi!

