Posted in book, books

The Keep It Fresh Award

Guys. I don’t do well well as a participator in book tag ish posts. There are so many books that I’ve read, but so little that it’s so hard to choose. I understand if you don’t understand me because I’m confusing myself. Just know that this is a small preview of the what the rest of the post is going to be like. Apologies.

Huge thank you to Sarah and Faith over at Sublime Reads, the creators of this tag, for tagging me to do this. I know it was a long time ago, but I wanted to do it anyways, because of how creative it is. 

We decided to make this as a sort of last burst of summer activity but we wanted to acknowledge book bloggers who keep things fresh all year round, all who deserve more recognition.

RULES:
  • Post the rules before starting and link back to this post as a reference for other bloggers.
  • Part A: Answer each of the fruit questions (each fruit corresponds to a book!) & add pictures plus why you thought that particular book deserves that particular fruit if possible.
  • Part B: Choose your favourite fruit (even if it is one of the fruits in part A). Come up with a question that we didn’t ask and answer it.
  • Part C: Create your own smoothie from the fruits in Part A (imagine a Lemon-Tomato-Apple smoothie ~ yuck), and find a book that would correlate to your smoothie!
  • Nominate as many and anyone that you think are deserving of this award but it would be nice if you nominated a minimum of 5!
  • Notify your nominees of the nomination (nom nom nom ~ :D)
  • The most important rules? HAVE FUN and of course, KEEP IT FRESH!

MAKE SURE TO CHECK THEIR BLOG OUT! Also, I hope that they don’t mind, but I’m going to skip a few of these rules and fruit questions (all of this is great of course, it’s just that I don’t want to miserably #fail at so many questions). 

Let’s start now, k?


 

  1. Strawberries: Name the sweetest book you’ve read. (e.g. sweet in terms of the characters or if the story takes place in a sweet world… etc.)

 First category, and I’m already at a loss :’) In my defense, I haven’t read a lot of books that would be called sweet. The closest book I can think of right now would be Waking up in the Land of Glitter: A Crafty Chica Novel by Kathy Cano-Murillo

2. Coconut: What is a book that you would bring on vacation with you to a tropical destination? (Or if you’re just relaxing at the beach…)

  I’m going to say any book from the Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella. I say any one, because I haven’t finished the entire series yet, and may be at a different book. Easy reads, and fast paced.

3. Pineapple: What is a book that you didn’t think you would like by judging its cover/summary/the first few pages but started to grow on you?

Brace yourselves.

…Harry Potter.

*everyone gasps*

I KNOW, I KNOW, I should have never doubted, but back then I was foolish, naive. I’m a very loyal and proud Potterhead now, yes sir.

4. Orange: What’s the juiciest book you’ve read? (e.g. A book with tons of action, romance… etc.)

Ever is a strong word guys. Because I don’t want to say anything I’ll regret, I’m going to answer a slightly different question to ‘One juicy book that I’ve read’.  Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass. I still have to read the second book in the series, but I’m really excited for it! 

5. Dragonfruit: What’s the most unique book you’ve read? (e.g. Unique in writing style, characters, plot… etc.)

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson. The main characters are twins, and the story has 2 perspectives- one from the past, the other from the present. 

6. Lemons: Name a book that made you feel sour. (e.g. The emotions were just sour, you just felt sour reading the book, or the book includes sour characters… etc.)

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead.  I extend my apologies to any of it’s fandom members that may be reading this.

7. Tomato: What is a wonderful book that you think should be more widely known? Or a fantastic author whom you think deserves more recognition? (Since some may not know that tomatoes are actually fruits!)

I read this book a long time ago, but I doubt I would feel any different about it. Brainboy and the DeathMaster by Tor Seidler is a fantastic book (though old), full of mystery and adventure. I’m not sure what age group this is meant towards (probably a younger audience), but that won’t stop me from a re-read.

8. Apple: Name a really stereotypical book of a certain genre just like apples which are typical fruits. In the end was that book good or not? (e.g. A very typical contemporary/fantasy book… etc.)

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales. A young adult contemporary novel of a girl who’s trying to tackle everyday life drama, and is then given an opportunity to make things better. I did finish it in a day, but it wasn’t because I liked it; it was because I thought I would.

9. Blueberries: Name a book that made you feel blue. (Any sad, depressing books that you’ve read?)

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseni. It also made me feel much more grateful for the things I have, which I appreciate.


 

AND NOW THE NOMINATIONS:

💻 Rachael from rachaelsbookshelf

💻 Ally Dewing

💻 Amy from nicareads

💻 Charlotte from charlottebibliophile

💻 Sára from ablogbysara

💻  Brigid from coldpressed

💻 Olivia from heirofglitter

💻 YOU! 🙂

I would love for any of you to do this tag (if you want to of course). Let me know if you decide to do it 😀


 

[Disclaimer: Featured Image is not my own; I found it at Sublime Reads].

That’s all for today, folks. Hopefully, the next post will be better, in all terms :p Stay fantastic!

-A.

 

 

 

 

Author:

Aspire to inspire. Proud: Muslim ☺ I Chocolate and book lover ♥ I Potterhead ☻

9 thoughts on “The Keep It Fresh Award

Say hi!

