Posted in book, books

A Fifty-Year Silence | Book review #7

   Long book titles need to be shortened (at least for the title of a post on WordPress), so as to not bore the readers. -Aya. 

A Fifty-Year Silence: Love, War, and a Ruined House in France

by Miranda Richmond Mouillo

 I don’t like not finishing books. I especially don’t like not finishing books that I have to review. But here I am, credits to A 50 Year Silence- the reason behind this post.

Before you make any assumptions of how terrible this book must have been for me not being able to finish it, let me tell you that it wasn’t.

A story of a journey.

Two World War II survivors.

Miranda Richmond takes it upon herself to find the hidden cause that resulted in the separation of her grandparents. She goes all the way back to her childhood to begin this story, and occupies herself with anything and everything that has the potential for leading her to the truth.

No, really. In fact, it was really well written. The introduction of characters was illustrated by descriptions of their everyday routine, which permitted us to interpret their personality. It also allowed us to be more involved in the book and learn a great deal about their daily lives. It didn’t take me long to get attached to the characters even though some of them were presented as arrogant and disagreeable to other’s opinions. I knew there was something that had resulted in them becoming the way that they had and was curious to know the cause behind their now stubborn personality.

As for the book itself, I liked how it was set up.  The book contained a handful of photos of the characters and the places significant to them, which was a nice addition.

 

br 2.png

So, why did I not finish it?

The factor that keeps you going through a book is your interest. Losing it is a great gamble lost, and that’s what happened with this book. My attention, that had been wandering away early on in the book, had predicted this. I just didn’t have enough interest to continue the book, and soon enough, the lack of it overtook my curiosity.


📌 Disclaimer: Thanks to Blogging For Books for providing me a free copy of this book to review. That being said, this does not change my opinions on the book whatsoever. 

📌 Cover (featured) image by Goodreads. I prefer taking my own images, but uploading my captured image of the cover on here may take more time than you think.

📌 Book links:

Goodreads Amazon 


 

That’s all for today. Stay fantastic folks,

A.

 

Author:

Aspire to inspire. Proud: Muslim ☺ I Chocolate and book lover ♥ I Potterhead ☻

4 thoughts on “A Fifty-Year Silence | Book review #7

Say hi!

